The Versatile Blogger Award

Ever have a moment that stops you in your tracks and makes you think that maybe someone really IS listening?

I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!

I haven’t been blogging for all that long, so this really came as a surprise. I’ve been very quiet about my blog and have been thrilled as people have “found” me all on their own. So getting this award was a very nice moment (and a wonderful way to end a somewhat ugly week).

There are some protocols to follow when given this award.

Once you are nominated, you have been awarded the award.

How cool is that?!

You are supposed to thank the person who gave you the award and include a link to their blog.

I was given this honor by Karaboo, someone I’ve been following for a while. We share many things in common and I’m amazed at how many times I’m reading her blogs and nodding my head. Been there, done that. Karaboo nominated me because I’m so honest with my struggles. And that brought a smile to my face. My whole life I have worked to be honest but it’s not exactly a quality that reaps tons of praise. In fact, some people think it’s wrong to be so honest or that sharing so much can invite trouble. Folks, there’s so much drama and trouble living with My 4 Daughters Plus 2 that I really don’t worry about inviting any more. It’s like those huge family gatherings we had when we were kids and when an uninvited guest showed up our parents would smile and say, “There’s always room for one more.” (Oh – that reminds me of a wonderful story that I’ll have to share in a future blog. Check back for that.) I’d rather dwell on the old adage that Honesty is the best policy. It goes along with respect and courtesy. And we can learn so much from each other when we are honest with each other. I hope my blog someday helps someone to learn from my mistakes and causes another to share in our common successes. Somewhere out there I know another person is reading this and nodding his or her head. Been there done that.

Tell the person who nominated you seven things about yourself.

I’ll share these with everyone here. Hopefully I won’t bore anyone to tears.

  1. In my family, I am the last of eight kids. There are four boys and four girls. I am the fourth daughter. And I have a fourth daughter. I’m still discovering the significance of that.
  2. When I was twelve, my mother was diagnosed with a rare form of uterine cancer. Two years later, she died at the age of 46. One year later, my father was diagnosed with liver and lung cancer. He died a year later at the age of 52. So when I was sixteen, I had no parents. Many of the struggles I write about in my blog lead back to the fact that I’m doing this all by the seat of my pants! But one life lesson I bring with me every day–Life is short really is.
  3. I try to make the most of the hand I’m dealt each day and count my blessings every night. Some days I’m more successful than others. But I have to be earning points for showing up every day and trying. I’m going to consider this Versatile Blogger Award as a point earned.
  4. I truly love my four daughters with every ounce of my being. I cherish the days when they love me back. Like everything else, some days more than others I love them and am loved by them.
  5. I have a two-year-old granddaughter who is absolutely adorable! I don’t get to see her very often, but I have learned so much from having her come into my life. The greatest joy I’ve gained from this experience is watching my own daughter become a parent. Kate is a wonderful mother and it shows. Eve is confident in all that she does and knows she is loved. She has a delightful sense of humor and rarely has a bad day. I regularly tell Kate how lucky she and her husband are, and each time I do I am reminded of the many times I was told that when Kate was a baby. Maybe I did one thing right in my life?
  6. I have been writing since I was ten. (I’m now 51.) I love to write. You’d think with all those years of writing I would be some famous writer. Sorry to disappoint. I have had one book published. I have a novel waiting to be accepted, but there’s a greater chance that I’ll end up self-publishing it just so I can say it’s done. Otherwise I’m going to edit it to death.
  7. My favorite days are pajama days—when I realize it’s two in the afternoon and I haven’t gotten out of my pajamas yet, and I have nowhere I must be other than at home. So at that point I declare it pajama day and watch an old movie or read a good book or write. In the last twelve months, I’ve had two pajama days. How sad is that?

Select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly. Nominate those bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award.

Since I’m so new to blogging, I’m still learning the ins and outs of “good” blogs. Following are some blogs I’ve been following for a while and some new ones that I recently discovered. As of this posting, they all can consider this their nomination!

Meandmyanxietydisorder – I know this blogger personally and I am so grateful that she has decided to share her story with those of us who need to understand the world of anxiety disorder. She is very brave and courageous and doesn’t give herself the credit she deserves.

33 Weeks of Ordinary – This blog is written by the author of 33 Weeks of Ordinary. We met when we were in the tenth grade in high school. For me, he has always carried with him an aura of peace and serenity. During some very challenging days when I was a teenager, I could count on his smile to put solid ground under my feet again.

Tales from the Motherland – I eagerly await posts from this blogger. She has the rare knack for being able to put humor into black and white words. And I admire her sense of adventure. She and her family have been hosting some foreign exhange students for the last year and I’ve really enjoyed reading about their experiences with “other nations.”

The Struggler’s Handbook – Another blogger who is successfully delivering humor. I do have a sense of humor but I’m not successful at putting it in written words. So I’ll keep reading and learning.

I’ll drink to that – I recently discovered this blog in a search to find other mothers of daughters. We need to stick together!

It’s Only My Opinion – Another recently discovered blog written by a woman who is the oldest of four daughters. I’m hoping to glean some wisdom from her.

Thank you again, Karaboo! (And Happy Mother’s Day to you!)

One thought on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thank you for the “pat on the back”. We all certainly could use one every once in a while. In this ‘Givers Gain’ world, I have found your support and encouragement inspiring. You and I are very close in age. I too look forward to more learning from you and reading more about your journey with your girls. Happy Mothers Day. I’m sure you are a blessing to your daughters.

Leave a Reply

