November Thanks #2 | 3 Gifts Worn

A thirty-day exercise in pausing, reflecting, appreciating, and giving thanks for simple things. My entire life I have struggled with staying warm. Even on a warm summer day, I often have a light sweater nearby to hold off a chill from a stiff breeze. And so it is that I wear flannel pajamas nearly ten months of the year. The first Gifts Worn that I want to acknowledge is my flannel nightgown, actually several of them. When my husband and I first got married he asked me what I wanted for Christmas. I told him a flannel nightgown, and he laughed. The second year he asked again and I gave him the same answer. It took a few years before he took me at my word. And since then, he’s given me a new one each year. I never tire of getting flannel for Christmas. The second Gifts Worn I want to acknowledge is my full head of hair. It truly is a gift to have a head of healthy hair. It’s so easy for those of us who do to take it for granted. But it takes just one encounter with someone undergoing chemo treatments to realize how fortunate we are to have hair on our head. The last Gifts Worn on my mind tonight is my wedding ring. It is a simple gold band and it matches my husband’s. I wear it proudly every single day. And tomorrow is our wedding anniversary.

Leave a Reply

