November Thanks #7 | 3 Gifts From Your Window

A thirty-day exercise in pausing, reflecting, appreciating, and giving thanks for simple things.

Tonight on the way home from work, I was later than usual and the days are getting shorter earlier, so I saw the beginning of the sunset as I drove west toward my home. It was a gorgeous sunset and it lit up the sky in an unusual way. It was as if Mother Nature laid down a long rope light on the ground just at the horizon to light up the clouds. It was a spectacular burst of color. And once I arrived home, I watched it a little more from the window in my home office.

Earlier this week I happened to be up very early, much earlier than usual, and stumbled into my bathroom, which has a window that faces west. It was the night of the full moon and the moon was low in the sky, large in my window, with clouds strewn across it like silky scarves. I thought about taking a photo but I didn’t. I wish now that I had.

From my kitchen and dining room I can look out at a couple of bird feeders we have hanging off our deck. I love watching the great variety of birds that come to feed. All summer long we were regularly visited by a family of chipmunks, but they have now gone to sleep in their well-stocked home for the winter. A couple of weeks ago I saw a squirrel that was nearly as large as the feeder, sitting for a spell as it filled its cheeks with food.

squirrel1

Leave a Reply

