November Thanks #13 | 3 Gifts Behind a Door

A thirty-day exercise in pausing, reflecting, appreciating, and giving thanks for simple things.

“Gifts behind a door” implies a door that is shut or something that is hidden. I felt like pondering  this one a while. Our house has an open floor plan, so the main “living” areas don’t have doors. The room that my computer is in has a door, but it is rarely closed. At night, we sleep with our bedroom door open so our dog can come and go as she wants. And our clothes closet is a walk-in and there isn’t a door on it either. So what gifts or blessings do I have behind a door?

Consider the front door to our house. Standing on the outside looking in, it is the passage into our home. We welcome guests with big smiles and warm hugs. We live by the philosophy that there is always room for one more. It is a safe haven, providing love and nourishment for us and our children. It is in our home where you find proof that “in good times and bad, in sickness and health, in sorrow and laughter” my husband and I witness each other’s life. That’s a pretty marvelous gift!

Taking another view, standing in our house and looking out the front door, it is the passage into the world. It is the gift of life. Every day is a new adventure, a new challenge, a blank canvas to be painted. Following routines, most days are quite simply the passing of time. But when you least expect it, exceptional things happen or surprises come along and gifts are to be found—by traveling to a new place, meeting new people, experiencing “firsts”. We have the freedom to come and go as we want. For some, that gift is priceless.

I had a lot of ideas about a third gift, but in the end, I have to go with what’s behind my bathroom door…my bathtub. It is my refuge for every emotional storm, every depressing or exhausting day, every time I feel overwhelmed or worn down. It is the place I meditate the best. It is where I go to ponder problems and search for answers. No other place on earth brings me the solitude and serenity that I find soaking in that hot water bath in the safety of my home. I have survived in life by the motto: a hot bath cures all.

Leave a Reply

