November Thanks #18 | A Gift Made, Shared, Passed On

A thirty-day exercise in pausing, reflecting, appreciating, and giving thanks for simple things.

When my first daughter was born, I liked to sew dresses for her. When my second daughter was born, I would make them matching dresses. Soon it was three daughters and then four. Sewing is therapeutic for me, and I loved making special dresses for Easter and Christmas. As the girls grew older, we changed up the dresses a bit. I’d buy two or three different fabric patterns that all blended well together, and then each girl could “design” her dress. One might have the top part be one color and the bottom another, while another dress might swap those colors. Or one might have short sleeves, another long. You get the idea. It was fun to see the creative imaginations in my daughters come alive, and it was an “interactive” way to keep them involved and keep them wearing the dresses I made. But yes, eventually they didn’t want to wear the matching dresses anymore.

Because there are eight years between my oldest and youngest, many of those dresses were handed down through the girls, so I consider that the “shared” part of today’s gift.

As for the “passed on” part—my oldest daughter dressed her own daughter in one of the Christmas dresses. I think I got more joy out of that than anyone else.

Leave a Reply

